Divide County, North Dakota is located in the northwest part of the state, bordering Montana to the west and Canada to the north. It has a population of just over 2,000 people, making it one of the least populated counties in the US. The county seat is Crosby, which is home to about 1,400 people.

According to psyknowhow.com, Divide County was established in 1884 and was named for its location between two distinct topographical features—the Missouri River on one side and an east-west divide on the other side. Although it was originally inhabited by Native American tribes such as Mandan and Hidatsa, settlers began arriving in Divide County during the late 1800s. Farming and ranching quickly became popular industries and continue to be important to Divide County’s economy today.

There are several attractions in Divide County that visitors can enjoy. The Theodore Roosevelt National Park is located near Watford City and offers stunning views of the surrounding landscape as well as opportunities for camping, hiking, horseback riding, fishing, and more. Additionally, Lake Sakakawea State Park is located near Pick City and provides visitors with access to Lake Sakakawea which offers great fishing opportunities as well as boating activities such as sailing or kayaking.

Famous people from Divide County include actor David Koechner who starred in films such as Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy and Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby; professional golfer Phil Mickelson; singer/songwriter Chuck Mead; Olympic gold medalist Billy Mills; baseball player Mike Sweeney; former NFL player Don Doll; former US Senator Quentin Burdick; actress Kim Delaney; and former President Theodore Roosevelt whose family had a ranch near what is now Medora—the entrance town for Theodore Roosevelt National Park.

Divide County is an interesting place with many things to see and do. From outdoor activities such as fishing or hiking to historical sites like Theodore Roosevelt National Park or cultural events like Chuck Mead’s annual Music Festival—there’s something for everyone in Divide County.

Climate and weather in Divide County, North Dakota

According to andyeducation.com, Divide County, North Dakota is located in the northwestern part of the state and experiences a semi-arid continental climate with long, cold winters and short, warm summers. The county typically receives around 13 inches of precipitation annually and temperatures tend to vary widely throughout the year.

Winters in Divide County are generally cold and snowy. Average temperatures range from highs in the low 20s to lows in the single digits. Heavy snowfall is common during this time of year, with an average snowfall accumulation of about 24 inches per season. Blizzards can occur during winter months as well, bringing strong winds and very low temperatures.

Spring brings warmer weather to Divide County as temperatures climb into the 40s and 50s during the day and dip into the 20s at night. The spring months are also wetter than winter months with an average precipitation amount of just over four inches during this time period.

Summers are hot and dry in Divide County, with daytime temperatures reaching up to 90 degrees Fahrenheit on some days. Humidity levels tend to be quite low during this season due to its semi-arid climate, though thunderstorms can occur due to its proximity to Canada which often produces cooler air masses that clash with warmer air masses from further south resulting in thunderstorm activity.

Autumn is a beautiful season in Divide County as temperatures cool off into the 50s and 60s during the day and dip down into the 30s at night. This is typically a dry season for Divide County as average precipitation amounts fall below two inches per month throughout autumn months.

Divide County experiences a wide range of climates throughout its four distinct seasons—from cold snowy winters to hot dry summers—and offers something for everyone all year round.

Transportation in Divide County, North Dakota

Divide County, North Dakota is served by a variety of transportation options. There are several highways that run through the county, including US Highway 85 and North Dakota State Highway 22. These highways provide easy access to nearby cities such as Williston and Watford City, as well as providing quick connections to larger cities such as Bismarck and Minot.

The county also has an extensive public bus network operated by the Divide Area Rural Transit (DART). DART operates daily routes throughout the county connecting major towns and villages with each other. There are also special services available for elderly citizens and those with disabilities.

For those who prefer to drive their own vehicles, Divide County has several car rental agencies located in major towns throughout the area. These companies offer a variety of different vehicles for hire including cars, trucks, vans, and SUVs. Many of these rental companies also offer discounts for long-term rentals making it a great option for those looking to explore the area in more depth during their stay in Divide County.

For those who prefer to fly into Divide County, there is an airport located just outside of Crosby which offers regular flights to larger cities such as Minneapolis/St Paul International Airport and Denver International Airport. The airport also offers private charter services if you need to get somewhere quickly or would like to enjoy a more luxurious travel experience.

Divide County provides plenty of transportation options that make it easy for visitors and locals alike to get around the area quickly and comfortably.

Cities and towns in Divide County, North Dakota

Divide County, North Dakota is home to a number of cities and towns. The largest city is Crosby, which serves as the county seat. Crosby has a population of around 1,400 and is located in the north-central part of the county. It offers many amenities such as a library, post office, grocery store, and several restaurants.

According to Countryaah, Williston is another major city in Divide County with a population of around 20,000. Williston is located in the northwest corner of the county and offers many services such as an airport, hospital, shopping centers, and several restaurants and bars.

The town of Fortuna is located in the western portion of Divide County with a population of just over 500 people. Fortuna contains several parks and recreation areas such as Fort Ransom State Park and Whetstone Lake Park. It also hosts an annual fair every summer that attracts visitors from all over the region.

The village of Ambrose lies in the northeast corner of Divide County with a population of just under 300 people. Ambrose offers many attractions such as its historic train station which was built in 1892. The village also has several churches and businesses that cater to local residents and visitors alike.

Finally, there are numerous smaller towns throughout Divide County including Alamo, Cartwright, Columbus City, Denbigh, Foxholm, Keeneyville, Noonan and Wildrose which all offer their own unique attractions for visitors to enjoy.

Divide County, North Dakota Weather
Tagged on: