According to estatelearning, Liechtenstein is located in Central Europe, bordered by Switzerland to the north and east and Austria to the south and west. It covers an area of 160 km2 (61 sq mi) and has a population of approximately 38,000 people. The capital city of Liechtenstein is Vaduz, located in western Liechtenstein along the Rhine River. Other major cities include Schaan in northern Liechtenstein and Triesen in eastern Liechtenstein.


Findings from both the Stone Age as well as the Bronze and Iron Age have been made. During antiquity, Liechtenstein was included in the 15 BC. established the Roman province of Raetia. A Roman bronze helmet (now in the Landesmuseum in Zurich) has been found in Schaan and rhetorical finds are in the Vaduz Museum. During the migration period the area was characterized by Alemannic culture.

  • Countryaah: Check to see the location of Liechtenstein on the world map. Also covers major mountains, rivers and lakes in Liechtenstein.


History Timeline of Liechtenstein

Liechtenstein arose in 1719 through the merger of two national immediate areas, Schellenberg and Vaduz, which on various roads accrued to the Austrian prince’s house Liechtenstein. To see more information other than history, please visit Abbreviationfinder to learn more about climate, population, government, and economy for the country of Liechtenstein. After the dissolution of the German-Roman Empire in 1806, Liechtenstein belonged to the Rhine Federation in 1806–14 and then in 1815–66 the German Confederation. When the latter 1866 was also dissolved, Liechtenstein became a sovereign state but stood in customs and coin union with Austria until the fall of the Habsburg House in 1918. Liechtenstein instead joined Switzerland and has since the 1920s coin and customs union with this country. In 1990, Liechtenstein joined the UN, and in 1995 an EEA agreement was accepted.

History of Liechtenstein
Tagged on: